The Incredible Bravery of Fat Shaming Children

An analysis of the psychological and physical risks to children due to over-obsession with weight. There is a fine line between educational discussion on health and weight-shaming, and it is important to consider this difference before addressing a child’s weight with the child. This article does well to provide research about the risks of going too far and weight-shaming your children.

I can attest to the fact that, intentional or unintentional, weight-shaming can cause life-long changes for a child. Only in my mid-20s do I now realize I was a healthy weight as a child and teenager. I was drawn into my mother’s diet hypes, and became her diet partner for years, which made me assume that meant I needed to lose weight like she did. An unintentional and indirect form of fat-shaming, but something to consider none the less.

What do you think? Is weight-shaming something you consider as a parent? Did you deal with weight-shaming as a child? How did you deal with it? Let’s have a Discussion!

~Editor-in-Chief

Dances With Fat

WTF are you doingLaura Cacdac got a letter from her daughter Charley’s school, letting her know that her daughter’s BMI was “high” and that “From the results of this test, it is suggested that your child’s health be examined by a physician, particularly as it relates to the problem suggested by the screening. A problem such as this that goes uncorrected or untreated can severely affect both the health and academic performance of your child.”

The school delivered the letter in such a way that Charley, all 4’2 and 60 pounds of her, was able to read it, prompting her to ask her mom “Do they think I’m fat? Is there something wrong with me?’ and then to say “If I was fat it would make me kind of sad and kind of feel bad, like I’m kind of different from everybody else.” So good news, this girl has already internalized fat…

View original post 968 more words

Join The Discussion

